Computer Science
OSU Computer Science
219 MSCS
Stillwater, Oklahoma 74078
(405) 744-5668

Computer Science Department

Donate Today!

Give now
Follow OSU:
slideshow item slideshow item slideshow item
MSCS 222 Mobile App Lab
MSCS 222 Mobile App Lab
MSCS214 Lab Robot's view
MSCS214 Lab Robot's view
MSCS 316
MSCS 316
MSCS 236
MSCS 236
Dr. Cline's summer in Vietnam
Dr. Cline's summer in Vietnam
Congratulations to 2016 graduate Mohammad Khan!
Congratulations to 2016 graduate Mohammad Khan!
Vinit Verma Inducted Into A&S Alumni Hall of Fame
Vinit Verma Inducted Into A&S Alumni Hall of Fame
Alex Durville, Outstanding Senior 2017
Alex Durville, Outstanding Senior 2017
Ashwin Cuts Into His Graduation Cake
Ashwin Cuts Into His Graduation Cake
Congrats to Ashwin and Goutam on Health Data Innovation Prize
Congrats to Ashwin and Goutam on Health Data Innovation Prize
Applications are invited for two Teaching Assistant Professor positions with term of appointment to begin August 1, 2019.
Applications are invited for three tenure-track Assistant Professor positions with term of appointment to begin August 1, 2019.

Research & News

New ACM Officers Elected new
ACM Officers for the next school year were elected on April 25. The new officers will be:
  • President: Hannah Scheffe
  • Vice President: Andrew Bevelhymer
  • Secretary: Kayla Walkup
  • Treasurer: Brayden Dyke
  • Philanthropy/PR Chair: Ethan Mayberry
Students Win Prize for Health Data Innovation new
Our Computer Science PhD students Ashwin Viswanathan and Goutam Mylavarapu participated in the OSU Center for Health Sciences Innovation Health Data shootout from February 20 - March 14, 2018 and secured a 3rd place finish for their model predicting and improving patient care for people afflicted by Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Congratulations to Ashwin and Goutam!
More Department Scholarships new
Further scholarship recipients: Samuel Wood (Computer Science Endowed Scholarship); Andrew Bevelhymer and Lauren Wong (Devon Scholarship); Tao Chen, Weiqi Cui, and Avinash Gupta (Fisher Scholarship) -- congratulations to all!
Department Scholarships new
Congratulations to recipients of the spring 2018 Devon Scholarships: Samuel Wood, Brandon Wong, Jenna Coons, and Alexander McCoy. Congratulations as well to recipient of the spring 2018 ConocoPhillips Scholarship, Holly Long!
Sharon L. Daniel Scholarship Winner
Congratulations to CS student Jenna Coons for receiving the 2018-2019 Sharon L. Daniel Annual Scholarship in Math and Computer Sciences!
Congratulations to 2017 ACM programming contest award winners Brandon Wong, Justin Maddox, and Hunter Soliday!
Dr. Chan-Tin, Dr. Crick, Dr. Etemadpour and Dr. George were awarded a National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates Site award. The REU program in the CS department at OSU is a ten-week summer program for undergraduate students. Participants in the program will contribute to research projects in big data analytics, including, robotics, computer vision, visualization, Twitter data analytics, anonymity, and machine learning.

For more information, see:
The department now offers a multi-disciplinary graduate certificate in Big Data Analytics which can be completed in conjunction with a Masters Degree in Computer Science.
Fisher Scholarship recipients for 2015-16
Congratulations to Michael Farcasin, Ashwin Kumar, Rohit Nutalapati and Gautham Pannaganti, recipients of the 2015-2016 Fisher Scholarships!
ACM Programming Contest Results
We had a very successful programming contest on April 14, 2016 with 48 contestants and 133 correct submissions. First place went to James Robinson, with 7 problems solved out of 10. Second place went to Ziheng Lin, with 5 problems solved by 7:28. Third place went to Ben Meyers with 5 problems solved by 7:50. Fourth place went to Thomas Games with 5 problems solved by 7:57. You can see all the problems for this and previous contests at the site -- thanks to everyone who participated as well as Dr. Cline for overseeing the contest!
Congratulations to CS students Marcus Gabilheri and the team of Aaron Weaver and Alexander Melton for their respective first place finishes in the annual OSU Mobile App Competition!
Mr. Connor Davis was selected as the computer science outstanding senior!
Walt Kolb Graduate Studies Scholarship
Congratulations to Michael Farcasin for receiving a Walt Kolb Graduate Studies Scholarship for spring 2016.
Undergraduate Scholarships
Congratulations to Don Stauffer, Layla Alachkar, and Corey Cuba for being awarded undergraduate scholarships from ConocoPhillips and Devon.
ExxonMobil Grant
The Computer Science Department received an additional $2000 grant from ExxonMobil.

Integrating disease-correlated ambient information into reliable and privacy-preserving pervasive health monitoring

Many diseases are strongly correlated with and affected by ambient environment, such as temperature and ultraviolet. Some of these diseases like skin cancer are common and can be serious to result in death. Each year more than two million new cases of skin cancer are diagnosed in the U.S. Meanwhile, according to CDC WONDER, Oklahoma has the highest mortality rate for melanoma in the U.S. In order to enable better control and treatment of these diseases, it is desirable to integrate correlated ambient information into pervasive health monitoring systems, for both medical research and health-care services. In this project, the team will design and develop the first pervasive health monitoring system that integrates disease-correlated ambient factors. In addition, it will also surpass all existing ones by providing reliable, efficient and privacy-preserving data collection and transmission. At the completion of this project, it not only will greatly enhance the preventive, proactive and patient-centered treatment to many chronic diseases, but also can facilitate the research on discovering new correlations between ambient factors and disease development.

Dr. Crick Awarded NSF National Robotics Grant

Dr. Christopher Crick, in partnership with colleagues in the College of Engineering and the Department of Psychology, has been awarded a $900,000 grant under the auspices of the National Science Foundation's National Robotics Initiative. This project will investigate learning from demonstration and skills transfer between humans and robots, with a primary focus on applications in the construction and farming equipment industry.

Dr. Crick in Partnership Awarded $6 Million NSF Award

Dr. Christopher Crick, in partnership with other colleagues at OSU and other universities, has been awarded a $6 million NSF Award. The award will be an OSU-led collaboration to develop weather research UAVs.

view more
Mission Statement

The Computer Science Department has a three-pronged mission:

  • 1
    to pursue and to publicize research projects in computer science in order to extend the present state of knowledge in the computer field
  • 2
    to educate students in all program levels in order to provide them with the knowledge, interest, and ethics to become productive members of the computing profession
  • 3
    to serve as an initial and continuing source of education in the field of computer science
Dr. Crick's robot torso spells out OSU